Find your climate zone - windows, doors and skylights

Energy Star logo

Effective January 1, 2020, ENERGY STAR Canada zone criteria will be the same for all of Canada and will no longer be divided into three zones (1, 2 and 3).

Find your ENERGY STAR climate zone by entering your postal code:

New climate zone map of Canada for ENERGY STAR effective February 1, 2015

Climate zone map divided into three zones
Map of Canada's climate zones - text version
  • Zone 1: in light green; south-western B.C. and Vancouver Island.
  • Zone 2: in dark green; southeastern, central and northern B.C. except the extreme northern part; southern and central Alberta; southern Saskatchewan and extreme southern Manitoba; the extreme southern part of northwestern Ontario; central and southern Ontario; south-western Quebec; all of the Maritimes and Newfoundland except for the northern part of the Northern Peninsula.
  • Zone 3: in light blue; the extreme northern part of B.C. and northern Alberta; central and northern Saskatchewan; all of Manitoba except the extreme southern part; northern Ontario except the extreme southern part of northwestern Ontario; all of Quebec except the south-west; the northern part of the Northern Peninsula; all of Labrador, Nunavut, N.W.T., and the Yukon.

  • Zone 3: >= 6000 HDDs
  • Zone 2: >= 3500 to < 6000 HDDs
  • Zone 1: < 3500 HDDs

Note: The heating degree day (HDD) values used for ENERGY STAR are from the Canadian Model National Building Code (2010).

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are administered and promoted in Canada by Natural Resources Canada and are registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency